Parliament of Plants

Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein, 6 Sept 2020 – 17 Jan 2021


The ecosystems on our planet have been profoundly changed by human influence. The exhibition Parliament of Plants at the Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein refers to the way in which complex interrelationships exist, their significance and their mutual influence.

It is about the artistic examination of traditional approaches and scientific models on related topics. The fact that plants communicate through chemical substances that they release via leaves and roots is only one way of looking at it. The artists introduce us to the most diverse aspects of plant life and in this way give plants entirely new voices which they can raise in their very own parliament.
The exhibition is presented as an open structure. Aspects such as self-organization, identification, utopias, social relations between flora and human beings and a different perception of time are reflected in the works. Other topics include shame and sexuality, expansion of consciousness and transformation, inner and outer migration, medical, scientific and cosmic knowledge.

In addition to the works of the artists Paweł Althamer & Artur Zmijewski, Stefan Bertalan, Andrea Büttner, Edith Dekyndt, Jef Geys, Isabella Hollauf, Anna Jermolaewa, Jochen Lempert, Uriel Orlow, Kristine Oßwald, and Athena Vida, there are various ‘Wunderkammern’. These function like their historical models, in which rarities, curiosities, amazing natural-historical artifacts have been collected next to fantastic precious objects. Here, historical botanical books are brought into resonance with artistic works from Rachel Ruysch to Paul Klee and from Joseph Beuys to John Baldessari with works by mediumistic artists such as Emma Kunz, Mrs. Brakhan, Fritzi Libora-Reif and Therese Vallant, thus opening up inner spaces for reflection and association.


Parliament of Plants
6 Sept 2020 – 17 Jan 2021
Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein
Städtle 32
9490 Vaduz, Liechtenstein

logo rand gr
2023 The Collection of Mediumistic Art
Imprint | Impressum